Here are a few facts about the Rhino:
The name rhinoceros means ‘nose horn’ and is often shortened to rhino.There are five different species of rhinoceros, three native to southern Asia and two native to Africa. They are the Black Rhinoceros, White Rhinoceros, Indian Rhinoceros, Javan Rhinoceros and Sumatran Rhinoceros.All five species of rhinoceros can grow to weigh over 1000 kg. White rhino can weigh over 3500 kg. White rhinoceros are generally considered the second largest land mammal (after the elephant).Three of the five  rhinoceros species are listed as being endangered.Rhinoceros have thick, protective skin.Rhinoceros horns are made from a protein called keratin, the same substance that fingernails and hair are made of.Rhinoceros are often hunted by humans for their horns.Rhinoceros are herbivores (plant eaters). A group of rhinoceros is called a herd or a crash.

Rhino's are decreasing and soon they will become extinct. They are lovely creatures and we should save them. Rhino horns are used as medicine to cure people from sicknesses. Many people are willing to pay money for a rhino horn. Rhino poachers earn money through poaching, they have a choice if they want to kill a rhino or save them. There are many fundraisers and charity events towards saving the rhino. Please help save the rhinos.
8/8/2013 02:28:29 am

Hi Hisha like you website

9/9/2013 03:21:03 am

Hi Hisha that is very interesting. I totally agree that the rhino poaching has to be stopped!

Caitlin Garvs
9/9/2013 04:24:16 am

Hi Hisha!
I totally agree with you about rhino poaching. I with the rhinos could be safe and left alone to live in peace like they should do. I am trying to help by collecting coins for the Save The Rhino funds but it's taking a long time to get money but I'll wait! I really want the rhino poaching to stop so people in the future can see these beautiful animals.


Leave a Reply.


    Hi my name is Hisha. I live in Somerset West. I think blogging is fun.


    August 2013